Pornhub ‘deletes almost 80 PERCENT of its videos overnight’ after claims it is ‘infested with child abuse’

PORNHUB has reportedly deleted almost 80 percent of its videos overnight after claims it is allegedly infested with child abuse.

Viewers have witnessed the number of videos available on the site declining since Sunday evening.

"As part of our policy to ban unverified uploaders, we have now also suspended all previously uploaded content that was not created by content partners or members of the Model Program," Pornhub said in an announcement.

"This means every piece of Pornhub content is from verified uploaders, a requirement that platforms like Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, YouTube, Snapchat and Twitter have yet to institute."

The videos will only be removed pending verification and review, which will take place in the new year.

The site is set to delete any videos that were not uploaded by "official content partners."

Since 2007, when the platform was launched, anyone could create an account and upload any video to the site.

Prior to the mass deletion on Sunday evening, Pornhub presented roughly 13.5million videos.

However, on Monday morning only 4.7million videos were shown.

The library number briefly went back up to 7.2 million, and it is currently unclear how many more videos will be pulled.

The purge comes after a column published in the New York Times claimed recordings of assaults on unconscious women and girls were uploaded to the platform.

The column called for credit card companies Visa and Mastercard to stop working with the company, and a week later both had officially ended their relationship and launched an investigation into unlawful material.

Pornhub and its parent company Mindgeek have denied the allegations in the Times, saying it employs a "vast team of human moderators" who manually review "every single upload," as well as automated detection technologies.

Pornhub made the policy change on Tuesday to ban all unverified users from uploading or downloading content to the site.

It also announced the website would be expanding its moderation efforts. 

Videos that are suspended are displaying a notice that says it has been flagged for verification “in accordance with our trust and safety policy.”

According to the site, users will be verified once they have submitted a selfie of themselves holding a piece of paper with their username and pornhub.com (or the Mindgeek site they're signing up for) handwritten on it. 

Pornhub told Motherboard that this process will be more thorough in the new year, but didn’t provide specifics about what that will involve.

Source: Read Full Article