How your vote changed the face Melbourne

By Sumeyya Ilanbey

Federal election 2022


Independent teal candidate Zoe Daniel has made history, convincingly winning the once-safe Liberal seat of Goldstein and ousting the incumbent, Tim Wilson.

In front of a jubilant crowd of hundreds at the Brighton Bowling Club in Melbourne’s inner south, Daniel claimed victory and promised to be an “honest broker from the cross benches” of parliament.

Carina Garland, Zoe Daniel, Michelle Ananda-Rajah and Monique Ryan have toppled Liberal MPs and will join the 47th Australian parliament. Credit:

With almost 70 per cent of the votes counted at 11pm on Saturday, Daniel was ahead in the seat on a 5.6 per cent margin, according to AEC figures.


Labor’s Carina Garland has won the ultra-marginal seat of Chisholm, which had been held by the Liberal Party’s Gladys Liu since 2019.

With more than half the vote counted by 11pm on Saturday, Garland was in an unassailable position, 7 per cent ahead of Liu on a two-party preferred count.

The seat of Chisholm has see-sawed between the major parties over the years, with Labor’s Anna Burke holding it until 2016, followed by the LNP’s Julia Banks, then Liu from 2019.


Labor has wrested the once-blue ribbon inner-city seat of Higgins from the Liberals’ Katie Allen, following a hotly contested election campaign.

Michelle Ananda-Rajah was leading the Liberals by 3.4 per cent on a two-party preferred count with 40 per cent of the vote counted by 11pm.

Allen held the electorate on a margin of 2.6 per cent after the 2019 election, but, like many inner-city seats, it has experienced a rise in support for the Greens in recent years.

Labor grew increasingly confident during the six-week campaign of its ability to win Higgins, with Labor leader Anthony Albanese making a last-ditch dash to the seat on Saturday morning.


Josh Frydenberg was the Liberal Party’s highest-profile loss on Saturday night as the Coalition was massacred in its wealthy heartland.

Teal independent Monique Ryan romped to victory following a hard-fought and bitter campaign, and was leading Frydenberg 4.53 per cent on a two-party preferred count with 51 per cent of votes counted by 11pm.

The federal treasurer, who was touted as a future Liberal leader, did not concede defeat on Saturday, but said it was “definitely difficult” to pull ahead.

Liberals had grown increasingly confident in recent days Frydenberg would retain his seat, albeit with a reduced margin.


The Liberal Party’s Keith Wolahan, who toppled long-serving MP Kevin Andrews in a preselection stoush, was in the fight of his life to hold the seat of Menzies for the Coalition.

Andrews held the seat on a 7 per cent margin, but with 52 per cent of the votes counted by 11pm, Wolahan was ahead by just 0.4 percentage points on a two-party preferred count. It was too close to call on election night.

The Liberals’ primary collapsed by about 10 per cent.

With Royce Millar and Clay Lucas

Cut through the noise of the federal election campaign with news, views and expert analysis from Jacqueline Maley. Sign up to our Australia Votes 2022 newsletter here.

Most Viewed in National

Source: Read Full Article