Steve McQueen, Ryan Murphy Selected for Gotham Awards Tributes

The Independent Filmmaker Project has selected ​Steve Mc​ ​Queen​ and Ryan Murphy as recipients of tributes at the Gotham Awards ceremony, which will be held Jan. 11.

McQueen, who won the Academy Award for best picture for “12 Years a Slave,” will receive the Director’s Tribute. Murphy, who has received six primetime Emmy Awards from 32 nominations, has been chosen for the Industry Tribute.

The 30th anniversary of the IFP Gotham Awards ceremony will be presented live from Cipriani Wall Street New York in a hybrid format, featuring virtual interactive tables in order to follow health and safety protocols brought on by the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Steve Mc​Queen is a force within the industry, directing one of most impactful and influential films of the year. His bold, masterful storytelling has riveted audiences for the past decade making him one of the most iconic filmmakers today,” said Jeffrey Sharp, executive director of IFP.

“Ryan Murphy has created some of the most cherished and acclaimed television series and films in recent years,” Sharp added. “Ryan across his many successful shows has built a home on the screen where his characters, and frankly all of us feel included, making him one of the most dynamic and well-loved creators by colleagues and audiences alike. Steve and Ryan’s commitment to inclusivity within the industry and their continued support for independent film and television is completely in line with IFP’s mission, and we look forward to honoring them this year.”

Mc​Queen made his feature directorial debut on “Hunger,” starring Michael Fassbender, and received a BAFTA Award for most promising newcomer and a BAFTA nomination for best British film. He went on to collaborate with Fassbender on “Shame” and “12 Years a Slave” for which he won an Academy Award and Golden Globe for best picture, and was nominated for an Academy Award and Golden Globe for directing. He directed “Widows” in 2018 and the anthology series “Small Axe” for Amazon Prime Video.

Murphy created and produced “​Nip/Tuck,​” ​”Glee​,” ​”American Horror Story​,​” “American Crime Story,” “Scream Queens,​​” “Pose” and “The Politician.” He has directed the feature films “Running With Scissors,” “Eat Pray Love” and “The Normal Heart.” Murphy’s upcoming film “The Prom” will premiere on Netflix on Dec. 11 with Meryl Streep, James Corden, Nicole Kidman, Keegan-Michael Key, Andrew Rannells, Jo Ellen Pellman, Ariana Debose, Kevin Chamberlin and Kerry Washington starring.

It was previously announced that Chadwick Boseman and Viola Davis will receive this year’s Actor and Actress Tribute.

Source: Read Full Article