‘Roma’ Lands Best Picture at 2018 Los Angeles Film Critics Association

Alfonso Cuaron’s celebrated new movie “Roma” picked up another major film award on Sunday, December 09, after Los Angeles critics picked it as their Best Picture of 2018.

Officials at the Los Angeles Film Critics Association have announced their annual awards, and “Roma” came out on top, while Debra Granik was named the recipient of the Best Director prize for for “Leave No Trace“.

Cuaron was named the runner-up behind Granik, but he also picked up the Best Cinematography gong.

Meanwhile, Ethan Hawke and Olivia Colman scored the best actor and actress honours for “First Reformed” and “The Favourite“, respectively.

Regina King picked up another Best Supporting Actress trophy for her performance in “If Beale Street Could Talk“, while Steven Yeun won the Best Supporting Actor prize for “Burning”.

The Los Angeles film critics will honour their winners at a ceremony on 12 January (19), when Japanese director and animator Hayao Miyazaki will be honoured with the Career Achievement award.

The full list of Los Angeles Film Critics Association winners is:

  • Best Picture: “Roma
  • Best Director: Debra Granik, “Leave No Trace
  • Best Actor: Ethan Hawke, “First Reformed
  • Best Documentary: “Shirkers”
  • Best Screenplay: Nicole Holofcener & Jeff Whitty, “Can You Ever Forgive Me?
  • The Douglas Edwards Experimental Film Award: Evan Johnson, Galen Johnson & Guy Maddin, “The Green Fog”
  • Best Animation: “Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse
  • Best Actress: Olivia Colman, “The Favourite
  • Best Supporting Actress: Regina King, “If Beale Street Could Talk
  • Best Supporting Actor: Steven Yeun, “Burning”
  • Best Editing: Joshua Altman & Bing Liu, “Minding the Gap”
  • Best Production Design: Hannah Beachler, “Black Panther“, Runner-up: Hugh Grant, “Paddington 2
  • Best Music/Score: Nicholas Britell, “If Beale Street Could Talk
  • Best Cinematography: Alfonso Cuaron, “Roma
  • Career Achievement Award: Hayao Miyazaki

Source: Read Full Article