Oscars 2019: Regina King Brings Rachel Weisz to Tears With Emotional Speech for Her Early Win

AceShowbiz -The 91st Academy Awards officially began with a rocking performance by Queen and Adam Lambert. Former “Saturday Night Live” funny ladies Tina Fey, Amy Poehler and Maya Rudolph took the stage next to present the first award for Best Supporting Actress and deliver a monologue, even though they were not the hosts.

The first award of the night went to Regina King, who beat out fellow nominees Amy Adams (“Vice (2018)“), Marina de Tavira (“Roma“) as well as “The Favourite” stars Emma Stone and Rachel Weisz, for her performance in “If Beale Street Could Talk“.

King, who was stunning in a white strapless dress, started crying as she delivered her speech. She honored James Baldwin, the author of the novel, “To be standing here, representing one of the greatest artists of our time, (author) James Baldwin, it’s a little surreal.”

She thanked her mother, who was sitting among the audience, as saying, “I’m an example of what it looks like when support and love is poured into someone. Mom, I love you so much.” She also mentioned her fellow nominees, and the camera panned to Weisz who looked emotional, too. “God is good all the time,” King concluded her speech.

Following in the footsteps of King to win an award at the Sunday, February 24 ceremony was “Free Solo” for Best Documentary Feature. Director Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi who acccepted the award said onstage, “This film is for everyone who believes the impossible.”

Vice” and “Black Panther” also already bagged one trophy each, for Best Makeup and Hairstyling and Best Costume Design respectively.

“This has been a long time coming,” Ruth Carter said when accepting the Best Costume Design award. She gave a shout-out to Spike Lee, adding, “Marvel may have created the first black superhero, but through costume design, we turned him into an African king.” This is the first Oscar for Carter, who scored her first nomination with Lee’s 1993 movie “Malcolm X”.

More winners will be announced during the live telecast which airs on ABC.

Source: Read Full Article