What is the Men's record for the most Wimbledon Grand Slam wins in a row and how many does Djokovic have? | The Sun

NOVAK DJOKOVIC has been gracing the professional tennis courts since 2003 – and we could see him lift another Wimbledon trophy in TOMORROW'S final.

The Serbian superstar has battled his way through the two gruelling weeks of SW19 to book a fourth spot in five years at the tournaments conclusion.

And his chances of lifting more silverware has significantly increased courtesy of arch nemesis Rafael Nadal dropping out due to an abdominal injury.

But how many Wimbledon Grand Slam wins does Djokovic have and what is the current record?

How many Wimbledon Grand Slam wins does Djokovic have?

Fortunately for Novak Djokovic, a win for the Serbian over Nick Kyrgios would see him enter the four in a row club.

The tournament was scrapped in 2020 due to Covid-19 which effectively acts as if it never existed.

Read More on Wimbledon

Wimbledon 2022 prize money: How much will the winners be paid?

Why does the Wimbledon trophy have a pineapple on top?

Djokovic has NEVER won four Wimbledon Grand Slams in a row – the closest he came was winning two consecutively (2014 and 2015).

Whereas this time round, the world number one has been crowned champion in 2018, 2019 and 2021.

But Djokovic's first triumph came in 2011.

What is the Men's record for most Wimbledon Grand Slam wins in a row?

Winning three consecutive Wimbledon Grand Slams is impressive considering the increase in talent every year.

But SEVEN players have accomplished this achievement and have even gone on to won more including Swiss icon Roger Federer.

Most read in Sport


Russia-born Rybakina wins Wimbledon vs Jabeur to leave organisers red-faced


Darts commentator and Soccer Saturday legend John Gwynne dies aged 77


Andy Murray heartbroken as beloved dog ‘Maggie Mayhem’ dies during Wimbledon


Tierney only lasts 30 MINUTES after injury woe as Arsenal fans all say same thing

Below is the list of players who have won more than in a row than Djokovic:

  • Reginald Doherty – 1897, 1898, 1899, 1900
  • Anthony Wilding – 1910, 1911, 1912, 1913
  • Bjorn Borg – 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980
  • Lawrence Doherty- 1902, 1903, 1904, 1905, 1906
  • Pete Sampras – 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000
  • William Renshaw – 1881, 1882, 1883, 1884, 1885, 1886
  • Roger Federer – 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007

When is the Wimbledon 2022 final?

What time does this year's final start and will it be FREE to watch?

The Wimbledon Men's Final takes place on Sunday, July 10.

It starts at 2pm UK time.

As always, Centre Court is the venue for the match and viewers can stream it FREE on  BBC iPlayer or the BBC Sport website.

    Source: Read Full Article