Lions squad get Covid vaccine after government let them skip queue for jabs

LIONS stars have been given Covid vaccine jabs after they got the green light from the government to jump the queue.

Players in Warren Gatland's 37-man squad who haven't already been given their coronavirus shots were jabbed up on Wednesday.

A post shared by The British & Irish Lions (@britishandirishlions)

That includes 20-year-old Wales winger Louis Rees-Zammit, the youngest of the touring party heading to South Africa next month.

As the southern hemisphere country remains on the red list, the jabs were brought forward.

At the moment only people aged 30 or older are eligible to apply to have the vaccine through the UK government's highly successful vaccine drive.

It is expected that the Lions will receive their second jabs in Jersey, before they take on Japan in Edinburgh on June 26.

Boss Gatland and the majority of his backroom staff have already had their two jabs.

Only fly-half Finn Russell, who was missing from the first meet-up due to his commitments with Racing 92 in France, did not receive his shot.

But he has already had his in Paris.

The squad got the Pfizer vaccine at a local vaccination centre in London.

Only last month Gatland said he hoped to have everyone jabbed up.

The Kiwi boss said: "We're talking to some people and hoping we're able to alleviate some of the issues around Covid.

"What's brilliant about the Lions is it's players and people coming together from different nations from Scotland, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Wales, England.

"I just think it would be a brilliant message about bringing people together if we're able to vaccinate all the touring party, the players, all the staff and maybe some media.

"We are working towards that if we can. We know there are challenges.

"We've got to be conscious not to be seen to get special treatment but I think these are special times and circumstances.

"It might not come together but fingers crossed."

Lions squad

Backs: Josh Adams (Wales), Bundee Aki (Ireland), Dan Biggar (Wales), Elliot Daly (England), Gareth Davies (Wales), Owen Farrell (England), Chris Harris (Scotland), Robbie Henshaw (Ireland), Stuart Hogg (Scotland), Conor Murray (Ireland), Ali Price (Scotland), Louis Rees-Zammit (Wales), Finn Russell (Scotland), Duhan van der Merwe (Scotland), Anthony Watson (England), Liam Williams (Wales)

Forwards: Tadhg Beirne (Ireland), Jack Conan (Ireland), Luke Cowan-Dickie (England), Tom Curry (England), Zander Fagerson (Scotland), Taulupe Faletau (Wales), Tadhg Furlong (Ireland), Jamie George (England), Iain Henderson (Ireland), Jonny Hill (England), Maro Itoje (England), Alun Wyn Jones (c) (Wales), Wyn Jones (Wales), Courtney Lawes (England), Ken Owens (Wales), Andrew Porter (Ireland), Sam Simmonds (England), Rory Sutherland (Scotland), Justin Tipuric (Wales), Mako Vunipola (England), Hamish Watson (Scotland)

    Source: Read Full Article