Spartan Protein's bars and chocolates recalled over fears they could trigger allergic reactions

SPARTAN Protein is recalling some of its bars and chocolates due to a labelling error which could put some people with allergies at risk.

These protein products contain milk, gluten, nuts, peanuts and soya – even though it doesn't specify the ingredients on the packaging.

This means shoppers who suffer from coeliac disease or are allergic to soy, milk or peanuts may accidentally eat them without knowing they could cause them harm.

Allergic reactions can vary depending on the cause – but symptoms include itching, sneezing, vomiting, diarrhoea or even an anaphalactic shock, which can be deadly.

It recall applies to the company's Peanut Butter & Cacao Protein Flapjacks (all pack sizes) and its Protein Chocolate including the Mint Crisp and the Orange Crisp flavours.

All the best before dates on the above products were affected by inadequate allergen labelling.

The Food Standards Agency (FSA) said : "Spartan Protein is recalling the above products from

customers and has been advised to contact the relevant allergy support organisations which will tell their members about the recall."

In a customer notice published on the FSA's website the company said the presence of milk and cereal allergen in their products were not highlighted in the format required by EU legislation.

If you've bought the products and you're allergic to one of these ingredients, you should avoid eating it.

Instead you can return it to the company for a full refund.

You can also contract the company on [email protected] for more information.

You can keep up to date with all the latest product recalls at the Sun Online by visiting our regularly updated recalls page.

Lidl also recalled a batch of pesto sauces because they contain ingredients not declared on the packaging that could make you ill.

Here's how to check if your product has been affected by a recall.

Source: Read Full Article