Books are ideal gifts for fussy friends — here's a list of the perfect books to buy your mates this Christmas

Somewhere, there is a book with their name on it. We guarantee it.

THE MUSIC-LOVING TEEN

I Was Born For This by Alice Oseman, HarperCollins, £7.99: Pals Angel and Juliet live for pop outfit The Ark and will see their favourite band no matter what.

When The Ark’s frontman Jimmy meets Angel, they both learn how life can change in the blink of an eye.

FOR THE LITTLE ONE

The Snowman: Inspired By The Original Story By Raymond Briggs by Michael Morpurgo, Puffin, £12.99: It is 40 years since Raymond Briggs created his much-loved picture book.

The former Children’s Laureate’s lovely new version adds to the magic.

THE THRILL-SEEKER

Anatomy Of A Scandal by Sarah Vaughan, Simon & Schuster, £12.99: Barrister Kate is determined to prove that James Whitehouse – junior Government minister and the PM’s best mate – is guilty of rape.

A taut and tense tale that is not for the fainthearted.

THE FOODIE

Great British Bake Off: Get Baking For Friends & Family by The Bake Off Team, £20, Sphere: Fire up the cook in your family with sweet and savoury treats from Paul Hollywood, Prue Leith and the series eight and nine bakers. The recipes are easy but yummy.

FOR THE FEMALE BOSS

Becoming by Michelle Obama, Viking, £25: Born in 1964 to very humble beginnings, the former US First Lady opens up about her upbringing, her time in the White House and being a mother.

Her strength and determination shine through in what is an honest and moving memoir that gives some great insights into being the First Lady.

THE BEST MATE

Lush: A True Story, Soaked In Gin by Gabrielle Fernie, Sphere, £8.99: For the friend whose cackle you can hear down the street. In this laugh riot, best friends Gabby and Emma have grown up together.

When Emma reveals she is getting married, it dawns on Gabby she must grow up herself once and for all. Hilarious and debauched.

THE SENTIMENTAL ONE

An Island Christmas by Jenny Colgan, Sphere, £12.99: If your best friend loves a rom-com and has read PS I Love You more times than they can count, they will love this too.

Flora is pregnant and doesn’t know how to tell her partner Joel. Will he ever be ready to be a dad? Or is he too damaged by his early years? Heartwarming.

FOR ARMCHAIR DETECTIVES

The Stranger Diaries by Elly Griffiths, Quercus, £12.99: Clare loves Gothic writer R.M. Holland.

When her friend and colleague Ella is murdered, Clare becomes convinced that Holland’s work somehow holds the key.

A spooky, compelling tale that is perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and any good murder mystery.

THE PUB QUIZ PAL

Infinity In The Palm Of Your Hand: Fifty Wonders That Reveal An Extraordinary Universe by Marcus Chown, Michael O’Mara Books, £14.99: The author explores the science behind 50 stunning facts, including how humans are one-third mushroom to what would happen if the sun were made of bananas. Mind-expanding stuff.


  • GOT a story? RING The Sun on 0207 782 4104 or WHATSAPP on 07423720250 or EMAIL [email protected]

Source: Read Full Article